Skip to product information
1 of 1

Richard Thompson - Rumor And Sigh - MFSL LP

Richard Thompson - Rumor And Sigh - MFSL LP

Regular price $59.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $59.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping Policy.

180-gram double LP

Mastered from the original master tapes

Pressed at RTI, strictly limited to 3,000 numbered copies!

Richard Thompson manages all of his usual superhuman feats on Rumor and Sigh. Rippled, vibrant guitar lines that sound like they're coming from four guitars? Check. Lyrics that expose the delicate quirks of human behavior in witty, truthful manners? Here. Engaging vocals that arrive as if they are sung only to you, the words doubling as whispered thoughts in your own head? Yep.

But Rumor and Sigh goes further by featuring astute, lively production and well-planned arrangements that turn the 1991 album into one of the — if not the — most cohesive and accessible efforts of Thompson's storied career.

Mastered from the original master tapes, pressed at RTI, strictly limited to 3,000 numbered copies, and on 180-gram vinyl 2LP for the first time ever to provide needed groove space, Mobile Fidelity's analog edition breathes with an effervescent openness that makes the music emerge with a livelier sheen, standout dynamics, and unstoppable energy. The dead-quiet pressing makes it immediately evident Rumor and Sigh endures as a very special album — a cohesive, varied, and fun set spiked with some of Thompson's finest compositions and an exoticism that extends to the modest use of the hurdy-gurdy, mandolin, concertina, and crumhorn.

1. Read About Love
2. I Feel So Good
3. I Misunderstood
4. Grey Walls
5. You Dream Too Much
6. Why Must I Plead
7. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
8. Backlash Love Affair
9. Mystery Wind
10. Don't Sit on My Jimmy Shands
11. Keep Your Distance
12. Mother Knows Best
13. God Loves a Drunk
14. Psycho Street

UPC: 821797247610 View full details