Skip to product information
1 of 1

Eiji Oue - Exotic Dances From The Opera - Reference Recordings LP

Eiji Oue - Exotic Dances From The Opera - Reference Recordings LP

Regular price $34.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $34.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping Policy.

Half-speed mastered, 180-gram LP pressed at Quality Record Pressings, gatefold jacket

"Reference Recordings' new edition of Exotic Dances From The Opera is a very guilty pleasure indeed. Pressed at Analogue Productions' Quality Record Pressing plant, this is Exotic's first time on vinyl. Among the excerpts are are Strauss' 'Dance of the Seven Veils,' Sain-Saens' 'Bacchanale,' and Rabaud's 'Dances from Marouf.' While Oue and his orchestra play well, the performances lack a certain tension. But the sound offers classic Keith Johnson excellence: A you-are-there perspective, stunning air and clarity, ideal instrumental texture, tone, and balance, and powerful, wide-ranging dynamics. Go ahead, indulge, you know you want to." — Sonics = 4.5/5; Music = 3.5/5 — Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound, January 2013

Including Strauss: "Dances Of The Seven Veils" from Salome; Saint-Saens: "Bacchanale" from Samson et Dalilah; Rabaud: "Dances From Marouf." Eiji Oue / The Minnesota Orchestra. The first recordings by the Minnesota Orchestra with their dynamic new music director. This recording is one of legendary engineer Keith Johnson's very best and favorite titles.

1. Rimsky-Korsakov: Dance Of The Tumblers From The Snow Maiden
2. Richard Strauss: Dance Of The Seven Veils From Salome
3. Mussorgsky: Dance Of The Persian Slaves From Khovanshchina
4. Tchaikovsky: Hopak From Mazeppa
5. Rabaud: Dances From Marouf, Cobbler Of Cairo
6. Saint-Saëns: Bacchanale From Samson And Delilah

UPC: 030911150518 View full details