Skip to product information
1 of 2

Herbie Hancock Takin' Off - XRCD24 CD

Herbie Hancock Takin' Off - XRCD24 CD

Regular price $29.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Herbie's Blue Note debut features the incomparable horn duo of Freddie Hubbard and Dexter Gordon (both at their creative peaks), blowing out Hancock's angular, bluesy tunes with passion and finesse.

The album kicks off with the classic "Watermelon Man"; the songs are largely uptempo hard-bop until closing with the sparkling, late-night ballad "Alone and I." The pianist's forays into experimentation are displayed in the strange rhythm section solos and the lack of thematic resolution on "The Maze" or the 32-bar broken phrasing on "Three Bags Full."

The sound is pure early-'60s Rudy Van Gelder: muted piano, in-your-face horns and rhythm section in your living room.


  • XRCD24
  • XRCD24 is Compatible with ALL CD PLAYERS!
  • Mastered & Produced by Alan Yoshida & Joe Harley from the Original Rudy Van Gelder Blue Note 2-Track Analog Tapes
  • Highest Quality Analog-to-Digital Transfers from Tape to CD
  • Deluxe Packaging with Hi-Resolution Black & White Session Photos by Francis Wolff
  • Includes Original Album Liner Notes


Herbie Hancock piano
Freddie Hubbard trumpet
Dexter Gordon tenor sax
Butch Warren bass
Billy Higgins drums


  1. Watermelon Man
  2. Three Bags Full
  3. Empty Pockets
  4. The Maze
  5. Driftin'
  6. Alone and I
  7. Watermelon Man (Alternate Take)
  8. Three Bags Full (Alternate Take)
  9. Empty Pockets (Alternate Take)
UPC: 693692200171 View full details
  • Free Shipping

    Orders Over $50 SHIP FREE Within The Continental U.S.

  • We Buy Record Collections