Skip to product information
1 of 4

Ornette Coleman - Genesis Of Genius: The Contemporary Albums - LP Box Set

Ornette Coleman - Genesis Of Genius: The Contemporary Albums - LP Box Set

Regular price $75.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $75.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping Policy.

Coleman's Albums For Contemporary Records In A 180g 2LP Box Set!

Newly Remastered By Bernie Grundman!
Cut From The Original Analog Tapes To Lacquer!
Pressed At RTI!

Containing newly remastered audio, Genesis of Genius: The Contemporary Albums combines legendary jazz saxophonist Ornette Coleman's albums for Lester Koenig's Contemporary Records.

This deluxe box set features Coleman's first albums as a bandleader: Something Else!!!! and Tomorrow is the Question!. Both albums were originally recorded by legendary engineer Roy DuNann and have been newly mastered by Bernie Grundman, who himself got his start at Contemporary, mentored by DuNann. The 180-gram vinyl set, which will be pressed at RTI, has been cut from the original analog tapes to lacquer. Also included is a 32-page booklet with archival photos and extensive new liner notes by GRAMMY® Award-winning music historian Ashley Kahn. The LP jackets also replicate the original tip-on versions.


  • Deluxe 180g 2LP Box Set
  • Coleman's Contemporary Records Albums: Something Else!!!! (1958) & Tomorrow is the Question! (1959)
  • Newly Remastered by Bernie Grundman
  • Cut from the Original Analog Tapes
  • Pressed at RTI
  • 32-Page Booklet - Archival Photos & New Liner Notes
  • Liner Notes by Grammy-Winning Music Historian Ashley Kahn
  • LP Jackets Replicate Original Tip-On Versions
  • Box Set Produced by Nick Phillips


Ornette Coleman alto saxophone (LP1 & LP2)
Don Cherry trumpet (LP1 & LP2)
Walter Norris piano (LP1)
Don Payne bass (LP1)
Billy Higgins drums (LP1)
Shelly Manne drums (LP2)
Percy Heath bass (LP2, Side A)
Red Mitchell bass (LP2, Side B)


LP1 - Something Else!!!!: The Music Of Ornette Coleman

  1. Invisible
  2. The Blessing
  3. Jayne
  4. Chippie
  1. The Disguise
  2. Angel Voice
  3. Alpha
  4. When Will the Blues Leave?
  5. The Sphinx

LP2 - Tomorrow Is the Question!: The New Music of Ornette Coleman

  1. Tomorrow Is the Question!
  2. Tears Inside
  3. Mind and Time
  4. Compassion
  5. Giggin'
  6. Rejoicing
  1. Lorraine
  2. Turnaround
  3. Endless
UPC: 888072171541 View full details