Skip to product information
1 of 3

(Pre Order) Byron Janis - Moussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition - Half-Speed Mastered LP

(Pre Order) Byron Janis - Moussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition - Half-Speed Mastered LP

Regular price $29.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Part of the Mercury Living Presence Audiophile Series!
Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl LP!
First Time on Vinyl!
Precision HD Transfers of the Original First-Generation Tapes!

Long hailed as the audiophile's label, Mercury Living Presence represents an important milestone in the history of classical recording. Since they were first released, Mercury Living Presence LP records have been collected and coveted and 70 years after the label's first release - Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, with Rafael Kubelík conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Mercury continues to be admired for the quality of its artistry and recordings: all celebrated for their sheer vividness of sound. This audiophile series sources the original first-generation master tapes. New HD transfers were made at Abbey Road Studios. Master files, including new 3-to-2 mixes for stereo titles, were produced by Thomas Fine, son of the original producer and recording engineer for the majority of Mercury Living Presence titles. Janis's virtuoso recording, originally released on CD in 1994, finally gets its vinyl due. Recorded in Fine Recording Ballroom Studio A, September 25-29, 1961 with three Schoeps M201 microphones.


  • The Mercury Living Presence Series
  • Audiophile Vinyl
  • Half-Speed Mastered
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Precision HD Transfers Made at Abbey Road Studios from the Original First-Generation Tapes
  • New 3-to-2 Stereo Mixes Produced by Thomas Fine


Byron Janis piano
Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra
Antal Dorati conductor


Modest Mussorgsky (1839 - 1881)

  1. Promenade. Allegro giusto, nel modo rustico, se
  2. Gnomus. Sempre vivo
  3. Promenade. Moderato commodo assai e con delicat
  4. The Old Castle
  5. Promenade. Moderato non tanto, pesamente
  6. The Tuileries Gardens
  7. Bydlo Sempre moderato, pesante
  8. Promenade Tranquillo
  9. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells

Side 2:

  1. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
  2. The Market-Place at Limoges
  3. The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)
  4. Con mortuis in lingua mortua
  5. The Hut on Fowl's Legs (Baba-Yaga)
  6. The Great Gate of Kiev


UPC: 028948526055 View full details
  • Free Shipping

    Orders Over $50 SHIP FREE Within The Continental U.S.

  • We Buy Record Collections